People’s attitudes toward marijuana use have been changing quite a bit in the last several years, but Texas has decided to follow its own path. Many of its neighboring states have allowed for the medicinal use of marijuana, have de-criminalized what were once petty offenses, and have even legalized its recreational use. Texas, on the other hand, has severe penalties for marijuana use, but it did pass a law that allows for the limited use of low-THC and high-CBD cannabis oils.
In the State of Texas, even the possession of a small amount of marijuana will put you in jail. Even if you have less than two ounces in your possession, it will result in 180 days of jail time and fine of up to $2,000. But if you have concentrates (such as hash oil), you can face a felony charge and up to two years in a state prison.
The following classifications for marijuana possession include:
- Class B Misdemeanor (under 2 ounces).
- Class A Misdemeanor (2-4 ounces).
- State Jail Felony (4 ounces to 5 pounds).
- 3rd Degree Felony (5-50 pounds).
- 2nd Degree Felony (50-2,000 pounds).
- Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or 5-99 years and a $50,000 fine (over 2,000 pounds).
The following classifications for the distribution of marijuana include:
- Class B Misdemeanor (.25 ounces or less).
- Class A Misdemeanor with renumeration (.25 ounces or less).
- State Jail Felony (.25 ounces to 5 pounds).
- 2nd Degree Felony (50-2000 pounds).
- 1st Degree Felony (over 2,000 pounds).
- Texas Department Criminal Justice institution for life or 10-99 years and/or a fine of $100,000 (over 2,000 pounds).
Distributing over .25 ounces of marijuana to a minor who is under 17 and is in school is considered to be a 2nd degree felony. And if it’s inside a drug-free zone, the penalties are doubled. Be sure to speak to someone at Gale Law Group for more information.