According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, homicide is defined as the “killing of one human being by another.” In the State of Texas, it’s covered under Title 5, Chapter 19 of the Texas Penal Code. In Section 19.01, it says that “a person commits criminal homicide if he intentionally, knowingly, or with criminal negligence causes the death of an individual.” Be sure to speak to a qualified attorney for more information on this part of Texas Law.
Categories of Criminal Homicide in the State of Texas
There are four categories of criminal homicide in the State of Texas, which includes but may not be limited to:
- Murder — With knowledge and intent, you take the life of another or plan to do something life-threating that results in the death of someone else. Murder is considered to be a first-degree felony.
- Capital Murder — You kill a fireman or any law enforcement officer, but you can also commit capital murder if you intentionally kill someone while performing an act of arson, kidnapping, robbery, terrorism, obstruction, or sexual assault. This act is considered to be a capital felony.
- Manslaughter — You “recklessly” cause the death of someone else, which is considered to be a second-degree felony.
- Criminally Negligent Homicide — If you’re “criminally negligent” and you take the life of someone else. Some “accidental killings” could be placed in this category.
Be sure to speak to a qualified attorney for more information about each of these criminal homicide classifications and on the possible punishment for each of these actions.
Penalties for Criminal Homicide in the State of Texas
Punishment for murder is a prison sentence of 5 to 99 years (or even life), and you will be subject to a fine of $10,000. If it was committed because of a sudden act of passion, it’s considered to be a second-degree felony (which would result in a prison sentence of 2 to 20 years and $10,000 fine). The range of punishment for capital murder can vary, which can include death. The punishment for manslaughter is a prison sentence of 2 to 20 years and a fine of up to $10,000, while criminally negligent homicide will result in time in a State Jail for a period of 180 days to two years, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
Defending Criminal Homicide Cases in the Coastal Bend!
If you feel like you have been wrongfully accused of any type of criminal homicide, you shouldn’t try to do it on your own. Having a qualified attorney by your side can make a difference between going to prison and walking away clean, and the Gale Law Group has an experienced team that will work hard to protect you from being punished for something that you didn’t do. We’ll fight for you throughout the entire process, and we’ll do what we can to protect you in a Court of Law.
If you want more information about how we can help you with your case, get in touch with us today!