Gale Law Group
711 N Carancahua St Suite 514
Corpus Christi, TX 78401
361.808.4444

Cocaine

The possession and distribution of cocaine is illegal in all fifty states, and there are even federal laws against it. In the State of Texas, the penalties for possessing and distributing cocaine will depend on the amount, but it will usually include some time in jail along with some monetary fines. Even the smallest amount (less than 1 gram) will result in a felony charge, which can lead to as much as two years in a state prison. But having more than 200 grams of cocaine can result in a prison sentence of up to 99 years.

The classifications for cocaine possession include:

  • State Jail Felony (less than 1 gram).
  • 3rd Degree Felony (2-4 grams).
  • 2nd Degree Felony (4-200 grams).
  • 1st Degree Felony (200-400 grams).
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for 10-99 years or life and/or a fine of $100,000 (400 grams and over).

The charges for cocaine distribution have the following classifications:

  • State Jail Felony (less than 1 gram).
  • 2nd Degree Felony (1-4 grams).
  • 1st Degree Felony (4-200 grams).
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or 10-99 years and/or a fine of $100,000 (200-400 grams).
  • Texas Department of Criminal Justice institution for life or 15-99 years and/or a fine of $250,000 (400 grams and over).

If you sell cocaine to a minor who is under 17 and is in school, it’s considered to be a 2nd Degree Felony. And if it’s in a drug-free zone, the penalties are doubled. Be sure to speak to someone at Gale Law Group for more information.